The Frustration of Nagging Temptation

It won’t stop.  I’m doing everything I can right now to stay distracted so that my mind doesn’t embark on its lustful journey into Sinland.  OK, that just sounds stupid.  But still.  I’m having a hard time focusing right now.  Thoughts and fantasies play over and over in my head.  They don’t stop.  I wake up – they’re going.  I try to do some reading – they’re going.  I play with the dog – they’re going.

It feels overwhelming.  Even though I know it’s not.  Temptation is never greater than I can handle.  First Corinthians 10:13 says, “No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man.  God is faithful and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it” (ESV, emphasis added).

So as the darkness seems to close in on every side, I do the only thing I can – I keep looking for the light.  For the path that will get me out of this dark cave.  For the light at the end of the tunnel, so to speak.  I often wish for instant deliverance.  But I know that’s not how God usually works.  The good news is that “God is faithful.”  He won’t let me down, and he won’t give up on me.  Ever.

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment